Tags

, ,

November is National Novel Writing Month, NaNoWriMo for short(ish). It’s basically a challenge to write a 50,000 word novel in a month. It’s an exercise in just banging something out; with the tight deadline, you don’t have the luxury of going back and laboring over every sentence written. I decided to give it a try this year with a story that I eventually called Beatrix Button and the Great Below.

Alas, I did not succeed.

I was very enthusiastic at first. I started a few days late but I was churning out between 1,800-3,000 words a day. I would have hit the 50,000 word mark if I had stuck with it at that pace. But shortly after I had written 10,000 words, I was talking about what I had written with a friend.

I had no real plan going into this. I was winging it, writing as I went along. So it was mostly silly and cliche-ridden but when you are chugging along, you don’t think about that. Talking about it with my pal, I became aware of all the shortcomings of the story I was telling and lost my enthusiasm. I knew the point of NaNoWriMo was just to hit 50,000 words, that no one’s story was going to be great on the first pass. I knew that logically but even so, my motivation deserted me and I haven’t touched it since.

Plus, Skyrim came out and let’s just say that the game became an easy distraction.

I will pick it up again though. Even though I did not not win this year’s NaNoWriMo, I still plan on finishing the story. It’ll just have to happen after I finish drawing the Topps Star Wars Galaxy 7 sketch cards and playing Skyrim.

